Progress

I have completed one month of training. As everything in life is difficult to measure any change on a day-to-day basis and during the first weeks of pain I couldn’t see any progress, however, after 4 weeks I am happy to report the following:

 

  • My runs are getting a lot better. I’m not stopping at the hills and I feel my breathing is getting used to the altitude.
  • I keep up with the guys on most of the exercises; I’m a bit slower with some (like push ups) and faster with others (like crunches).
  • My flexibility has improved a lot; I can kick almost vertically and I’m very close to be able to do the splits!
  • I’m not keeping track of weight or measurements, but I can feel I’ve lost some inches and have a bit more defined muscles.
  • Although the Mandarin studying is very little compared to the physical training, I’ve learnt a lot of basics and I use it frequently in the markets and with the school staff.
  • I have zero stress. My mind is completely relaxed, I have no worries; I take each day at a time and don’t occupy any time thinking about past or future.
  • I’ve started to recognize positive skills and aspects of my personality that I hadn’t noticed before.

IMG_1064

As I mentioned before, I’ve adapted well and fast to the environment and the routine; there are, however, things that I miss (in order of priority):

 

  • My HK Family and Friends (I learnt long to cope with the distance from those in Colombia)
  • Unrestricted internet access
  • Cheese, avocados and quinoa

 

What I don’t miss:

 

  • Make-up
  • High-hill shoes
  • Hair dryer
  • Alcohol
  • TV
  • Desks and computers
  • Overpriced meals

 

I’m sure I’ll adapt quickly again to whatever I choose to do after this, but for now I am happy to experience the simple life.

IMG_1054

3 thoughts on “Progress

  1. Well done, Lili, enjoy the next two months and looking forward to seeing you in Cape Town in October. Love, Otto and Maureen and Tracey (part of your South African family)

  2. wow!
    fantastic. you look great and sound wonderful. very upbeat and positive. i like the miss/don’t miss list. about the same for me anytime i’ve been away for long period of time.

    so interesting to hear how this experience works to clear the mind. amazing!

Leave a comment